Digging deeper with orange-register.net scam

orange-register

orange-register
Originally uploaded by ew4n.

Most phishing scams I’ve seen use some IP address as the web server — or an indistinguishable domain name. However this scam is actually using the domain name http://secure.orange-register.net. Brave. Because with a domain, you can be identified — at some point. Or, at least, there’s a paper trail of sorts.

I did a whois on the domain — of course the details are, one imagines, completely fake. Although I wonder how accurate the postcode is? ;-)

Now, if I was Orange, I’d have register.com or someone continually watching for people registering any domains with the word ‘orange’ in them, a) for possible trademark infringements and b) for people running phishing scams. I wonder if they have this? Or if that is perhaps an unreasonable expectation.

This domain should, clearly, be shut down immediately. It’s passing off and intended purely for capturing the financial details of unwitting Orange customers.

If you know anyone at Orange, perhaps you might advise them that orange-register.net should be closed.

About Ewan

Ewan is Founder and Editor of Mobile Industry Review. He writes about a wide variety of industry issues and is usually active on Twitter most days. You can read more about him or reach him with these details.
  • njar

    respect the innovation..

    (have emailed orange)

  • Ben Zyl

    I am sure they sent a near identical version of this a while back except it was Halifax Building Society, when I submission bombed this they changed the response to something quite rude after a few hours so were watching it – Ha Ha, whois ends up clarifying to a company called Visuali Limited which matches the post code and address.

Switch to our mobile site